Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru Y Pwyllgor Cyllid

National Assembly for Wales Finance Committee

Elin Jones AM

Llywydd

17 April 2019

Dear Elin,

Senedd and Elections (Wales) Bill

Thank you for attending the Finance Committee on 4 April 2019, to discuss the financial implications of the Senedd and Elections (Wales) Bill.

During the session I asked if it was your intention for the Electoral Commission to be funded through the Assembly Commission's budget or as a direct payment through the Welsh Consolidated Fund (WCF). In your reply you stated:

"I think direct funding of the Electoral Commission from the consolidated fund is not possible."

Your official Anna Daniel, Head of Strategic Transformation added:

"We don't have the capacity to legislate for them to receive money directly from the consolidated fund."

As you will be aware the National Assembly recently passed the Public Services Ombudsman (Wales) Bill, a non-Government Bill, which contained provisions for direct charges on the WCF and the Auditor General for Wales provided a report in accordance with Standing Order 26.6 (xi) setting out that in his view that the charge was appropriate.

I would be grateful if you could clarify the comment made by your official in relation to the Senedd and Elections (Wales) Bill that the Assembly Commission does not have "capacity to legislate" for direct payment to the Electoral Commission from the WCF, as it is not clear if this capacity refers to the legislative competence specifically in relation to the Assembly Commission legislating or some other restriction.

I would be grateful to receive your respond by Friday, 3 May 2019 to enable the Finance Committee to consider this information prior to reporting.

Yours sincerely,



Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru Bae Caerdydd, Caerdydd, CF99 1NA SeneddCyllid@cynulliad.cymru www.cynulliad.cymru/SeneddCyllid 0300 200 6565

National Assembly for Wales Cardiff Bay, Cardiff, CF99 1NA SeneddFinance@assembly.wales www.assembly.wales/SeneddFinance

0300 200 6565

Llyr Gruffydd AM Chair of the Finance Committee

